Song Review : fromis_9 – Talk & Talk

This marks the first release by fromis_9 under Pledis Entertainment (which is under HYBE). You might know that I am a huge fan of Seventeen, and I totally know that the way Pledis managed their girl groups in the past is…questionable so I am a little worried for them, but let’s leave that for another conversation. Songs like Feel Good and We Go really took fromis_9 go closer to some kind of spotlight, simply because they are great, really. Therefore, Talk & Talk has to overcome the high expectations, and do they live up to them?

It is a good song, continuing the group’s bright refreshing sound. The lining synths make up a strong backbone. I love the “doo-doo-doo” refrain that appears right from the start, the melody is guaranteed to be catchy. However, my only gripe seems to be at the first part of the chorus. The section is sang in a much lower energy compared to the rest of the song and it just does not fit well. The song also feels a little same-y and too streamlined at times, a stronger central hook that feels different would have made the song feel more dynamic. Fortunately, the extremely catchy chant is always around.

To answer my own question I left above, I’d say this is a very good song, but I would not be surprised if some fans who came after We Go feels a little letdown by the material here.

Production Scale8.5/10
Emotional ScaleA

5 thoughts on “Song Review : fromis_9 – Talk & Talk”

  1. Critically and even personally, I really like the song, even say I love it. It feels a proper successor to fromis_9’s WE GO. As we know, WE GO wasn’t really that well aged, in fact many critics lowered their scores in their Risers & Faller’s list. Speaking of them, I think they will like this one. Not sure if how will it age but already the reactions from the critics are positive. The fans are quite mixed, as you might know this since you well are on the bird app.

    I’m glad that the transferral comeback of sorts went better than usually expected. I just hope PLEDIS doesn’t screw them up. I will pray everyday for that. I have even a miniscule hope that beyond the gratifying smell of cash in Han Seung-soo’s bank, that they are still trying their best at pleasing fromis_9’s musical needs and wants. I really do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I disagree with you (and a few other critics) because We Go has definitely aged well for me, and this song will most likely go the same route. Agree with you though that this is a proper successor to We Go, it’s just that I thought that some new fans from that song won’t like this as much as we both do haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t worry, I agree with you on We Go. I think it is just sad that people didn’t see it strong. For me it was a perfect summer song, albeit being released in May, which was also Summer here, but ofc not really summer. Well, you get me since I also live in Southeast Asia.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Really disappointing! Not with fromis_9 but with Pledis/HYBE for giving them a lousy comeback song. I’m a die-hard fromis_9 fan and was expecting something in the likes of We Go, Feel Good or their older songs like Love Bomb, DKDK and Love Rumpumpum. TBH this is bad. Nothing like those catchy tunes and rhythym of their past songs. I felt that Love Bomb should have been a hit and won at least some awards but sadly it did not happen.

    From Youtube videos, fromis_9 was well liked when they performed at KCON 2019 in NY and LA.
    It may be my wild imagination but I’m wondering if this is some diabolical scheme by Pledis/HYBE to depopularize fromis_9 with the goal of disbanding the group. Since Pledis has had a bad reputation of mismanaging and disbanding their girl groups (Pristin and After School) and Gfriend was suddenly disbanded despite still being very popular, soon after they were acquired by HYBE, could this be their strategy to disband fromis_9 in a different manner.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started